About us

The Public Foundation “Media Development Center” was created to promote freedom of speech in Kyrgyzstan through the formation of a more responsible attitude of media representatives to their activities by introducing high journalistic standards; participation in the formation of effective and constructive media legislation; increasing the level of media literacy of the population, including critical thinking and perception of news and information; developing a culture of fact-checking and using a variety of sources of information.

In 2018, the “Media Development Center” has launched a unique project Factcheck.kg – an independent online platform, the main purpose of which is to check and refute inaccurate information, manipulation and propaganda. The uniqueness of the project lies in the fact that Factcheck.kg is the first and only fact-checking resource in Kyrgyzstan. With the launch of the online platform Factcheck.kg, a new genre of journalism called “fact-checking” has become popular and in demand. Just a couple of years ago, a few specialists in Kyrgyzstan knew what a fact-check was. There was no clear methodology and format for the fact-checking genre. Today, thanks to the project, the word “fact-check” has already entered the vocabulary of journalists, there is an understanding of this journalistic format. The number of materials based on information verification and fact-checking tools has increased in the media. Moreover, the circle of fact-checkers has expanded, and later also media outlets that disseminate and implement information verification skills in the media environment.

It is also worth noting that the “Media Development Center” PF has passed the state registration of the intellectual property object – the trademark “Factcheck.kg” in the State Register of Trademarks of the Kyrgyz Republic in 2020.

The Factcheck.kg team consists of professional journalists with rich experience in covering various socially significant topics in social, economic, political, cultural and other spheres of life.

Editorial structure:

Yaroslav Tartykov – the Editor

Asel Sooronbaeva – the Editor of the Kyrgyz version

Elizaveta Umurzakova – the Editor of the Russian version

Argen Kamaldinov – journalist-factchecker

Ruslan Tartykov – journalist-factchecker

Read more about the authors and editors on this page.

 

The concept of the Factcheck.kg project.

Mission:

Counteracting post-truth politics and increasing the level of media information literacy and critical thinking in Kyrgyzstan, namely:

  • in the professional media environment – production and distribution of high-quality reliable information;
  • in the consumer environment – instilling a culture of conscious and critical perception of information.

The goal:

Fight against false information, information manipulation and propaganda, as well as the distribution of high-quality and reliable content.

Objectives:

  • reducing the manipulative impact of fake news through regular monitoring and verification of socially significant and high-profile news, facts, figures, as well as statements of public figures for reliability;
  • publication of the “verdict” of the editorial board – a lie, true, half-truth, manipulation, without a verdict – with a description of the verification methodology and the provision of evidence;
  • Conducting an information campaign to increase media information literacy among the population.

 

Financial support:

The editorial staff of Factcheck.kg is an independent platform and categorically refuses proposals to post information with elements of propaganda and advertising in articles, as well as any other illegal information in nature. Our project does not bound by any contractual or oral obligations with government bodies, companies of the pseudo-government sector and commercial organizations.

Financial support for the project is/was provided by:

Soros Foundation-Kyrgyzstan

Internews Network in Kyrgyzstan

Democracy Commission of the US Embassy in Kyrgyzstan

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

О нас

Общественный Фонд «Центр Медиа Развития» создан в целях продвижения свободы слова в Кыргызстане посредством формирования более ответственного отношения представителей СМИ к своей деятельности путем внедрения высоких журналистских стандартов; участия в формировании эффективного  и созидательного медиа законодательства; повышения уровня медиаграмотности населения, в том числе критического понимания и восприятия новостей и информации; развития культуры фактчекинга и использования разнообразных источников информации.

В 2018 году «Центр Медиа Развития» запустил уникальный проект Factcheck.kg – независимая онлайн платформа, основной целью которой является проверка и опровержение недостоверной информации, манипуляции и пропаганды. Уникальность проекта заключается в том, что Factcheck.kg является первым и единственным фактчекинговым ресурсом в Кыргызстане. С запуском онлайн платформы Factcheck.kg новый жанр журналистики как «фактчекинг» стал популярным и востребованным. Буквально пару лет назад что такое “фактчек” в Кыргызстане знало считанное количество специалистов. Не было четкой методологии и формата фактчекингового жанра. Сегодня же, благодаря проекту, слово «фактчек» уже вошло в словарный запас журналистов, есть понимание формата фактчекинга. В СМИ увеличилось количество материалов, основанных на верификации информации и инструментах фактчекинга. Более того, расширился круг специалистов-фактчекеров, а впоследствии и медиа организаций, которые распространяют и внедряют навыки верификации информации в медиа среде.

Также стоит отметить, что ОФ «Центр Медиа Развития» прошла государственную регистрацию объекта интеллектуальной собственности – товарного знака «Factcheck.kg» в Государственном реестре товарных знаков Кыргызской Республики в 2020 году.

Команда Factcheck.kg — это профессиональные журналисты с богатым опытом освещения различных общественно-значимых тем в социальной, экономической, политической, культурной и других сферах жизнедеятельности.

Структура редакции: 

Нургуль Абдыкеримова — автор идеи и основатель проекта

Нуржан Мусаева — координатор проекта

Ярослав Тартыков — редактор

Асель Сооронбаева — редактор кыргызской версии

Елизавета Умурзакова — редактор русской версии

Арген Камалдинов — журналист-фактчекер

Чынара Султаналиев — журналист-фактчекер

Руслан Тартыков — журналист-фактчекер

Жылдыс Ороспакова — SMM специалист

Подробно об авторах и редакции читайте на этой странице.

Коцепция проекта Factcheck.kg 

Миссия:

Противодействие политике пост-правды и повышение уровня медиа информационной грамотности и критического мышления в Кыргызстане, а именно:

  • в профессиональной медиа среде – производство и распространение качественной достоверной информации;
  • в потребительской среде – привитие культуры осознанного и критического восприятия информации.

Цель:

Борьба с ложной информацией, информационными манипуляциями и пропагандой, а также распространение качественного и достоверного контента.

Задачи:

  • Снижение манипулятивного воздействия фейковых новостей посредством регулярного мониторинга и проверки общественно значимых и резонансных новостей, фактов, цифр, а также заявлений публичных лиц на предмет достоверности;
  • публикация «вердикта» редакции – ложь, правда, полуправда, манипуляция, без вердикта – с описанием методики проверки и предоставлением доказательств;
  • Проведение информационной кампании с целью повышения медиа информационной грамотности среди населения

Финансовая поддержка:

Редакция Factcheck.kg является независимой платформой и категорически отказывается от предложений размещения в статьях информацию с элементами пропаганды и рекламы, а также любую другую, носящую противозаконный характер. Наш проект никак не связан договорными или устными обязательствами с государственными органами, компаниями псевдогосударственного сектора и коммерческими организациями.

Финансовую поддержку проекту оказывают:

Фонд «Сорос-Кыргызстан»

Internews Network в Кыргызстане

Демократическая Комиссия Посольства США в Кыргызстане

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives