Factcheck в КР Избранное

Kyrgyzstan refused to negotiate with the Tajik side? Not true

16.09.2022

Kyrgyzstan refused to negotiate with the Tajik side? Not true

Information that, according to the Tajik border guards of the SNSC, the Kyrgyz military attacked residential areas and set fire to houses in Isfara appeared on the website of the Tajik news agency Asia-Plus.

The publication also said that Tajik border troops accused the Kyrgyz side of ignoring cease-fire and peaceful negotiations proposals. In addition to Asia-Plus, many Russian media outlets disseminated the news that Kyrgyzstan was refusing to negotiate, at the instigation of the Tajik border service.

A picture of a burnt house was used as an illustration. The caption states that this is the damaged house in Chorkukh Jamoat of Isfara during the conflict in 2021.

Factcheck.kg editorial board has checked these claims.

Manipulation with the photo

 First of all, it is important to note the use of an archive photo of the destroyed house. In this case, the use of this image serves as a tool of manipulation, causing an aggressive reaction from the reader and setting up a certain perception of further information.

We remind you that we have already previously refuted Tajik media’s claims about destroyed buildings in Histevarz during the border conflict in 2021. Factcheck.kg journalists proved that all the destroyed buildings, which were passed off as Tajik ones, turned out to be on Kyrgyz territory. As a result, Sputnik-Tajikistan resource would have been forced to correct the headline from “Histevarz – the most affected city” to “Histevarz – the least affected city”. Nevertheless, at that time those publications caused a wave of indignation and negativity among social media users.

Shelling of Tajik villages

The statement about Kyrgyz armed forces shelling Tajik border villages with all types of heavy equipment and firearms made by the press center of the Border Troops of the SNSC of Tajikistan is partially confirmed by reports of the Border Guard Service of the SNSC of Kyrgyzstan.

According to reports from Kyrgyz Border Guard Service, Tajik soldiers open fire from the settlements of border villages, thereby causing retaliatory fire on their positions. Using their civilians as a human shield, the Tajik side suffers civilian casualties.

Referring to the shelling of Tajik villages, the news agency uses a method of manipulation called half-truths. When describing the shelling of Tajik settlements by the Kyrgyz military, not a word was said about the shelling of Kyrgyz territory in Eki-Tash, Chir-Dobo, Kum-Mazar, Orto-Boz Kulundu, Maksat, Jany-Jer. The fact that MLRS were fired at the surroundings of Batken airport and civilian infrastructure on the outskirts of Batken.

In addition to the shelling of Kyrgyz villages, the Tajik military has seized a school in Ak-Sai village.

Who is actually refusing to negotiate?

The press centre of the border guards of the SNSC of Tajikistan reported that the Tajik side carried out a unilateral cease-fire and offered to start negotiations twice on September 16, at 06:30 am and 07:30 am, but the Kyrgyz military ignored those proposals and continued to fire.

But is this true?

On September 14, at 4:20 pm, delegations of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan headed by leaders of Batken region of Kyrgyzstan and Sughd region of Tajikistan met in the area of Radar of Batken district. The meeting was attended by border guards of both sides, heads of security and law enforcement agencies and district administrations of the two republics.

But on September 16, in violation of the agreement, at 06:00 am the Tajik side again started shooting at the Kyrgyz Republic State Committee for National Security border guard and Kyrgyz army positions in the areas of Eki Tash, Chyr Dobo, Kum Mazar and Orto Boz with firearms and crew-served weapons. At 06:30 am, the Tajik side started mortar fire at the Kok-Tash border guard outpost of the Batken Border Guard Unit.

On September 16, Major General Ularbek Sharsheyev, director of the State Border Guard Service of the Kyrgyz Republic, and Colonel General Rajabali Rakhmonali, commander of the Border Guard Troops of the SNSС of Tajikistan, held telephone conversations in order to stop the fire and prevent the conflict from escalating.

In the course of negotiations, the heads of the border guard agencies agreed to a ceasefire from 10:00 am to have a meeting. However, the Tajik side continued shelling Kyrgyz positions. Starting from 8:30 am, the Border Guard Service of the SNSC of the Kyrgyz Republic demanded a ceasefire and negotiations. But neither at 8:30 am nor at 10:00 am did the Tajik side carry out he agreements.

On September 16, CSTO Secretary General Stanislav Zas and Secretaries of the Security Councils of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan Marat Imankulov and Nasrullo Mahmudzoda in a telephone conversation talked about an immediate ceasefire on the Kyrgyz-Tajik border. This was reported by the press service of the organization’s secretariat.

On September 16, the State Border Guard Service of the Kyrgyz Republic made an official statement that the heads of the special services of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, Kamchybek Tashiev and Saimumin Yatimov, had agreed to a ceasefire from 4 pm.

On September 16, Kyrgyz President Sadyr Japarov met with the President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon on the sidelines of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization summit in the city of Samarkand. The sides discussed the situation on the Kyrgyz-Tajik section of the state border. The leaders of the two countries agreed to instruct the relevant agencies about the ceasefire and withdrawal of forces and equipment from the line of contact. Kamchybek Tashiyev, deputy head of the Cabinet of Ministers and chairman of the SNSC of Kyrgyzstan, and Saimumin Yatimov, chairman of the SNSC of Tajikistan, will work on site and a commission will be established to investigate the circumstances and causes of the incident.

A screenshot of the Asia-Plus publication shows a mismatch between the claim of Kyrgyzstan’s unwillingness to negotiate and the published news that negotiations had taken place.

Conclusion: untruth and manipulation. Statements by the press service of the border guards of the SNSС of Tajikistan do not correspond to reality. On September 16 alone, while the Tajik border guards and the Tajik and Russian media were spreading false information, negotiations between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan took place four times. And each time, Kyrgyzstan spoke in favor of an immediate ceasefire.

Журналист, фактчекер, расследователь, редактор. Выпускник школы расследовательской журналистики TRACK. Соавтор ряда резонансных журналистских расследований.

Factcheck в КР Избранное

Кыргызстан отказывался от переговоров с таджикской стороной? Неправда

16.09.2022

Кыргызстан отказывался от переговоров с таджикской стороной? Неправда

Информация о том, что по данным погранвойск ГКНБ Таджикистана, военнослужащие Кыргызстана напали на населенные пункты и подожгли жилые дома в Исфаре появилась на сайте таджикистанского информресурса Asia-Plus.

Помимо этого, в публикации сообщается, что погранвойска Таджикистана обвинили кыргызскую сторону в игнорировании предложений о прекращении огня и мирных переговорах. Помимо AsiaPlus, сообщение о том, что Кыргызстан отказывается от переговоров, с подачи погранслужбы Таджикистана распространили многие российские СМИ.

В качестве иллюстрации была использована фотография сгоревшего дома. В подписи утверждается, что это пострадавший дом в джамоате Чоркух города Исфары во время конфликта 2021 года.

Редакция Factcheck.kg проверила эти утверждения.

Манипуляция фотографией

В первую очередь хотелось бы отметить использование архивной фотографии разрушенного дома. В данном случае использование такого изображения служит инструментом манипуляции, вызывающим у читателя агрессивную реакцию и настраивающим на определенное восприятие дальнейшей информации.

Напомним, что ранее мы уже опровергали утверждения таджикских СМИ о разрушенных зданиях в Хистеварзе в ходе приграничного конфликта в 2021 году. Журналисты Factcheck.kg доказали, что все разрушенные здания, которые выдавались за таджикские, оказались на кыргызской территории. В итоге ресурс «Спутник-Таджикистан» вынужден бы исправить заголовок с «Хистеварз – наиболее пострадавший город» на «Хистеварз — наименее пострадавший город». Тем не менее, тогда эти публикации вызвали целую волну возмущения и негатива у пользователей соцсетей.

Обстрел таджикских сел

Следующее заявление пресс-центра Пограничных войск ГКНБ РТ о том, что вооруженные силы Кыргызстана обстреливают со всех видов тяжелого и огнестрельного оружия приграничные села Таджикистана, отчасти подтверждается сообщениями Пограничной службы ГКНБ КР.

По сообщениям пограничников КР, военнослужащие Таджикистана открывают огонь из населенных пунктов приграничных сел, тем самым вызывая ответный огонь по их позициям. Используя своих мирных жителей в качестве «живого» щита, таджикская сторона несет потери среди гражданского населения.

Упоминая обстрел таджикских сел, информагентство использует такой метод манипуляции, как полуправда. Рассказав об обстреле таджикских населенных пунктов кыргызскими военными, ни слова не было сказано об обстреле кыргызской территории в местностях Эки-Таш, Чыр-Добо, Кум-Мазар, Орто-Боз Кулунду, Максат, Жаны-Жер. О том, что из РСЗО были обстреляны окрестности баткенского аэропорта и объекты гражданской инфраструктуры на окраинах самого Баткена.

Помимо обстрелов кыргызских сел, таджикскими военными была захвачена школа в селе Ак-Сай.

Кто на самом деле отказывается от переговоров?

О том, что таджикская сторона 16 сентября дважды, в 06:30 и 07:30, осуществляла одностороннее прекращение огня и предлагала начать переговоры, но военнослужащие Кыргызстана проигнорировали эти предложения и продолжили обстрелы, также сообщил пресс-центр погранвойск ГКНБ РТ.

Но насколько это соответствует действительности?

14 сентября в 16:20 в местности Радар Баткенского района состоялась встреча делегаций Кыргызстана и Таджикистана, возглавляемых руководителями Баткенской области Кыргызстана и Согдийской области Таджикистана. На встрече приняли участие пограничные представители сторон, руководители отделов силовых структур, правоохранительных органов и районных администраций двух республик.

Но 16 сентября, нарушив договоренность, в 06:00 таджикская сторона снова начала обстрел пограничных нарядов ПС ГКНБ КР и позиций кыргызской стороны в местностях Эки-Таш, Чыр-Добо, Кум-Мазар и Орто-Боз из стрелкового и группового оружия. В 06:30 таджикская сторона начала минометный обстрел на участке ответственности пограничной заставы «Кок-Таш» Баткенского пограничного отряда.

16 сентября в целях прекращения огня и недопущения эскалации конфликта состоялись телефонные переговоры между директором Пограничной службы ГКНБ КР генерал-майором Уларбеком Шаршеевым и командующим Пограничными войсками ГКНБ РТ генерал-полковником Раджабали Рахмонали о проведении встречи.

В ходе переговоров главы пограничных ведомств договорились о прекращении огня с 10:00 для проведения встречи. Однако таджикская сторона продолжила обстрел кыргызских позиций. Начиная с 8:30 Пограничная служба ГКНБ Кыргызской Республики требовала прекратить огонь и провести переговоры. Но ни в 8:30, ни в 10:00 таджикская сторона не выполнила договоренностей.

16 сентября генеральный секретарь ОДКБ Станислав Зась и секретари Совбезов Кыргызстана и Таджикистана Марат Иманкулов и Насрулло Махмудзода в ходе телефонного разговора высказались за немедленное прекращение огня на кыргызско-таджикской границе. Об этом сообщили в пресс-службе секретариата организации.

16 сентября Пограничная служба ГКНБ КР сделала официальное заявление, что главы спецслужб Кыргызстана и Таджикистана Камчыбек Ташиев и Саймумин Ятимов договорились о прекращении огня в 16.00.

16 сентября президент КР Садыр Жапаров встретился с президентом РТ Эмомали Рахмоном на полях саммита Шанхайской организации сотрудничества, проходящего в городе Самарканде. Стороны обсудили ситуацию на кыргызско-таджикском участке государственной границы. Лидеры двух стран договорились дать поручение соответствующим структурам о прекращении огня и отводе сил и средств от линии соприкосновения. Заместитель главы кабмина — председатель ГКНБ Камчыбек Ташиев и председатель ГКНБ РТ Саймумин Ятимов будут работать на месте, будет создана комиссия по расследованию обстоятельств и причин произошедшего.

На скриншоте публикации Asia-Plus видно несоответствие утверждению о нежелании Кыргызстана вести переговоры и публикуемым новостям о том, что состоялись переговоры.

Вывод: неправда и манипуляция. Утверждения пресс-службы погранвойск ГКНБ РТ не соответствуют действительности. Только 16 сентября, в то время как погранслужба Таджикистана, таджикские и российские СМИ распространяли ложную информацию, четыре раза состоялись переговоры между Кыргызстаном и Таджикистаном. И каждый раз Кыргызстан высказывался за немедленное прекращение огня.

Журналист, фактчекер, расследователь, редактор. Выпускник школы расследовательской журналистики TRACK. Соавтор ряда резонансных журналистских расследований.